Gravel David Rouleau & Associates Inc. was founded in 1989.

At that time, the founding chairman Mr Pierre David was surrounded by two partners who supported him during the start-up period, while the company had to earn a place in an industry in perpetual motion.

In the early years, GDR positioned itself as an important partner with well established insurers. In addition, two judicious acquisitions expanded its customer base.

Now main shareholder, Pierre David is still inspired by the same passion he had in the beginning. Intuitive, visionary and entrepreneur, he has managed to adapt services to new industry realities.

Humble before success, he readily admits that his greatest accomplishment is unquestionably the team he gathered to surround himself which is dynamic, highly qualified and shares his enthusiasm for the profession.

International market development

In development since 2010, the Lloyd’s of London market has taken much more importance inside our firm. Beginning in 2017, while still receiving claims adjusting cases, GDR now acts as T.P.A. (Third-Party Administrator) for some Lloyd’s syndicates. A team of four TPA, several claims adjusters and a VP development sees to maintain our good relation with the London market. As such, we have put in place a distinct division for liability claims.

Company buyout by its executives

Pierre David, a first-generation shareholder, joins Daniel Balthazar and Marc Carrier in this transaction. Since June 1st, 2021, Daniel is now President and Chief Executive Officer, while Marc is Vice-President, Finance and Technology. Pierre can undertake a gradual exit while ensuring the sustainability of the firm that he founded 32 years ago.

Gravel David Rouleau & Associés Inc. voit le jour en 1989.

À cette époque, le président fondateur Monsieur Pierre David s’entoure de deux associés qui l’épauleront au cours de la période où l’entreprise doit se tailler une place de choix dans une industrie en perpétuel mouvement.

Dès les premières années, GDR s’impose comme un partenaire important auprès d’assureurs chevronnés. De plus, deux acquisitions judicieuses viendront agrandir son bassin de clientèle.

Devenu actionnaire majoritaire, Pierre David est animé de la même passion qui l’habitait aux premières heures. Intuitif, visionnaire et entrepreneur, il a su adapter les services offerts aux nouvelles réalités de l’industrie.

Humble devant le succès, il admet d’emblée que sa plus grande réalisation est sans contredit d’avoir réussi à s’entourer d’une équipe dynamique et hautement qualifiée, partageant son enthousiasme pour la profession.

Développement du marché international

En développement depuis 2010, le marché des Lloyd’s de Londres a pris de l’importance dans notre cabinet. Depuis 2017, en plus de recevoir des mandats d’experts en sinistre, GDR agit maintenant à titre de tiers administrateur (TPA) pour certains syndicats Lloyd’s. Une équipe de quatre TPA, plusieurs expert en sinistre et un VP développement voit aux bonnes relations avec le marché Londonien. Il s’agit d’une division distincte qui se consacre exclusivement aux dossiers en responsabilité.

Rachat de l’entreprise par les cadres

Pierre David, actionnaire de la première génération, s’associe à Daniel Balthazar et Marc Carrier pour réaliser cette transaction. Depuis le 1er juin 2021, Daniel occupe le poste de président-directeur général alors que Marc occupe le poste de vice-président, finances et technologies. Pierre peut donc entreprendre une sortie progressive tout en assurant la pérennité de l’entreprise qu’il a fondé il y a maintenant 32 ans.